03/04/17

I have not spent too much time recently on the project as I have been fairly busy with other small projects and essays but now I am going to be looking at inspiration for how I will make my vinyl covers stand out.

I’ve been searching the web for limited edition covers and I have found a few interesting ones, I will talk about each one below.

bowie-1500

Blackstar was the late David Bowie’s last album. It’s been discovered that Jonathan Barnbrooks design of the vinyl sleeve incorporates secret features that are only revealed over time.

If you expose the vinyl art to the light, it reveals the image of a galaxy, and as Jonathan explains to BBC Radio 6, there’s “one big thing which people haven’t discovered yet”.

“Let’s just say, if people find it, they find it, and if they don’t, they don’t. And remember what Bowie said about not explaining everything,” he tells host Mary Ann Hobbs.

Ref: http://www.digitalartsonline.co.uk/news/illustration/best-album-art-2016-see-winners-of-best-art-vinyl-awards/#4

I love the idea of this artwork as that there are hidden elements that only reveal in light and also the message it’s sending off, as soon as you see it you think black and star which of course is the title of the album.

Another thing I like is the simplicity of the album yet it’s so simple it looks like a very luxurious item that sets of the feel that it is in fact a limited edition vinyl.

You can also tell that Jonathan has done some research into Bowie as he references a few things from him and forms them into a message to hide within the artwork.

mark-pritchard-under-the-sun

Mark Pritchard’s solo album Under the Sun, released on Warp Records in May 2016, has been described to incorporate Africa HiTech rhythms, Harmonic 313 beats and traditional folk, incidental music.

This ambience is translated through visual artist Jonathan’s stunning otherworldly CG landscape of sand, sea and mountains.

Ref: http://www.digitalartsonline.co.uk/news/illustration/best-album-art-2016-see-winners-of-best-art-vinyl-awards/#5

With this piece of work I like how both completely different scenes are merged so perfectly into one in a fairly natural way. Also the angles both images are portrayed work well with one of my clients as that their logo is an upside down V.

These are the two that really stood out for me and I felt that they could be done within a slight budget so I think I will go onto basing my ideas around these. I’m going to be looking at ways that I could design the vinyl itself to stand out as all the basic ones are black and simple.

 

