30/05/16

So firstly to create anything I was told to always choose your font family before you do anything else as that some times the typography is great enough by itself to show off the brand, I learnt this through work experience. As I was saying in the previous post on my inspiration for this logo design I wanted to go for a font that looked similar to the Lonsdale logo. Below is my choice and how the brand fits it.

Screenshot 2016-05-30 20.48.40

Screenshot 2016-05-30 20.43.25

The reason to why I am only using that font on just one part of the brand is because I don’t want it to be too heavy and look so manly, I had to look at options to dim it down a little without making it look tacky.

In order to to edit the font to extend a part of the A out I had to expand the text. I thought it would work well to drag the serif from the A all the way through the whole word so that it would split up the logo fairly well.

Screenshot 2016-05-30 20.43.56

To get the bulge effect to work and look natural I had to stretch the wording up as that the bulge tool squishes the text and can end up looking pretty awful.

As you can see here stretching it before using the effect has kept it almost the same size as to how I wanted it and it still looks natural. The only issue I find with using this effect is that it’s hard to edit with the anchors and is a visual pain.

I thought that I would get a little bit of illustration as that they did use a scorpion in their current logo. Doing this insures that their clients stay with them and people can still recognise the brand even though they’ve been revamped.

Screenshot 2016-05-30 20.44.12

Screenshot 2016-05-30 20.47.40

I had to then get either one of the two “boxing” or “gym” in to it. I went to find a font that would work well with the current font I was using but it had to look nice, clean and professional to even out the logo. I went with Georgia as a safe option and it worked well to how I wanted it to be.

For a first attempt at this I thought I’ve done well, but there is still some touching up that needs to be done! I thought I would experiment with colours too to see which looks more affective.

