20/05/16

1) Visual Communication:

In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece meet the needs of the brief?

The brief says to create a double page spread of a piece of my photography. I have taken a various amount of photos to pick from and have chosen two of my liking to include in the DPS.

In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece fail to meet the needs of the brief?

I think that possibly the text may distract the eye from the actual photos.

What are the strengths of the visual communication? Why?

I believe my strengths within my double page spreads are the simplicity and colour harmony with them. Also I am extremely pleased with my photos and choice of type to fit the brief.

What are the weaknesses of the visual communication? Why?

I do not feel there are any weaknesses within my piece today apart from the printing which was not my fault and will sort out as soon as possible.

In what ways could the piece be mis-read or misunderstood by the audience? Be specific about who the audience is.

Maybe the audience may not know what environment I have subjected to, though I believe this is very clear.

In what practical ways could the piece be developed or improved?

Getting my own printer would be handy as then I wouldn’t have to rely on the college ones.

2) Reflection of own working practices:

How was my time keeping?

I found my time keeping skills well set out, I feel that the brief may have been a bit too long for the task as I had finished it in the early stages from when it was set.

How was my analysis of the brief?

I read the brief and understood it very well, though I felt it was too independent as that in a real life brief they’re a hell of a lot more specific.

How was my research?

I think I got the main parts I had to look up, and researching something you enjoy does give me a bit more enthusiasm.

How did I draw conclusions from my research?

I’m not so sure, I just gathered my research and analysed it, bought it into how I was going to set my work out and adapted it.

How did I use research to generate and develop ideas?

I done a PMI and went to look at examples of existing DPS’s to gain some inspiration and to draw a line to how it should look like.

How did I use evaluations to help with my ideas generation and development?

I learnt from my mistakes, instead of evaluating my own work as I went along, I involved others and a few experts instead to get an outside point of view.

How did I use experimentation during the project? How can I make this more effective?

I like to experiment on software and discover techniques my own way making it a little more unique. I made a few versions each fairly similar and got some peoples opinions.

In what ways did I show that I had achieved the Learning Outcomes? How can I improve this next time?

I blogged about my progress frequently and documented everything I done.

What parts of the project did I enjoy most? Why was this the case?

The photography as it was something different from our recent briefs.

At what times did I work best? Why might this be the case? How can I ensure that I work well at all times?

Working with the software.

 

What areas were challenging or difficult? Why was this the case?

The only area I found challenging again was the print stage as that the college printers are not great.

How can I go about developing and improving the parts I found difficult?

Research a little bit more maybe, and get to know the adobe suite a little bit more.

 

 

