01/03/16

So I felt the need that I’d have to brand myself before I create my website. I didn’t like the way that I wouldn’t have some sort of logo. Here I will go into my process of creating a logo which will look food for my website and suit with the work I do.

Firstly I decided to sketch up a few ideas that were flowing through my head, this process took about an hour, I wanted to do as many as possible but wanted to be thinking more convergently than divergently. Below are the sketches I had drew up.

FullSizeRender 6

Now I wanted my logo to be fairly basic and not really stand out from my actual portfolio work but then the logo kind of is my portfolio work? So I had to kind of balance it out, I experimented a lot with my logo ideas just like I have done with my previous work. I looked around at other logo’s for design companies and saw that most of them are standard but professional looking and do stand out. After looking at these sketches I took to the computer to start drawing some up within illustrator. My first attempt was really rough and looked like this.

Logo-iDEA

Now I wasn’t at all pleased with this and it wasn’t really my style. It was easy to create this logo using shapes then using the Sharper tool to join them up. The sharper tool was released in a recent update and it works a treat, really did play in my advantage while creating my logo.

So moving onto my next idea I was inspired by a design company called We Love Digital. Though after creating this I felt as if it wasn’t my own brand, I needed to create something unique so I stopped looking at inspiration and just went for my gut feeling but first I will show below my second version of my logo. Excuse the bad quality as that I saved over the original file, big mistake! The screenshot was taken from my website as that I did experiment the logo with a few page layout ideas.

Screen Shot 2016-02-25 at 19.25.48 copy

Looking back at my sketches one other idea did stand out from the rest being the one in the top left corner. So I took that and experimented with the colours, stroke size and areas which to fill.

Brief development stages through screen shots

Screen Shot 2016-03-02 at 15.35.12Screen Shot 2016-03-02 at 15.35.28Screen Shot 2016-03-02 at 15.35.43

Colour Experimenting

Alternative Fills experiment

Screen Shot 2016-03-16 at 14.51.16.pngScreen Shot 2016-03-16 at 15.15.32.png

Scrapped as it looked like a T on its side next to a D.

Text layout experiment

Final look

Logo-iDEA-2

I may choose to redesign the logo at some point in the future though I believe this works out well for my first logo, you can easily see its a H and a D which stands for Hilton Design which is written underneath. I also asked for people’s opinions and they could clearly see what the logo meant. I feel i’ll have a use for each different background colour at some point!

