12/02/16

1) Visual Communication:

In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece meet the needs of the brief?

The brief says again to “make it different”, I believe that both my covers have met the needs of this brief after a lot of thought and understanding of the brief itself.

In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece fail to meet the needs of the brief?

I believe I could have done a few more sketches by hand instead of digitally.

What are the strengths of the visual communication? Why?

I believe my strengths within my covers are that the designs I think are very different to others, I feel that I have pitched the book War Horse pretty well in my eyes.

What are the weaknesses of the visual communication? Why?

I haven’t really explored the visual communications side of this brief as it was a short brief specifying in typography.

In what ways could the piece be mis-read or mis-understood by the audience? Be specific about who the audience is.

I’m not too sure as I feel I made it as clear as I possibly could. Though maybe the illustrations may be hard to read.

In what practical ways could the piece be developed or improved?

I’d may want to explore purchased fonts and get a better variety of them.

2) Reflection of own working practices:

How was my time keeping?

I found my time keeping skills well set out, Having only a week to complete it was a little tough but was doable.

How was my analysis of the brief?

I’m not really good at analysing my own work but I think I done alright.

How was my research?

I think I managed to get all my research gathered up pretty well and believe I got everything I needed for the project.

How did I use research to generate and develop ideas?

I looked at previous versions of the book cover for War Horse and also watched the film to kind of get a feel of what it was about quickly without having to spend a lot of time reading into it.

How did I use evaluations to help with my ideas generation and development?

I learnt from my mistakes, instead of evaluating my own work as I went along, I involved others to get an outside point of view.

In what ways did I show that I had achieved the Learning Outcomes? How can I improve this next time?

I blogged about my progress frequently and documented mostly everything I done.

What parts of the project did I enjoy most? Why was this the case?

All of it because it was something new and gave me an understanding on creating covers for books, magazines, DVDs etc.

What parts of the project did I enjoy least? Why was this the case?

none.

At what times did I work best? Why might this be the case? How can I ensure that I work well at all times?

Working with the software and thinking of ideas to illustrate  the book.

What areas inspired me? Why was this the case? How could I follow these up?

What inspired me during this project was the fact of thinking differently and making something better.

What areas were challenging or difficult? Why was this the case?

The printing stage was again a little stressful but was alright as that it was printed a few days before the deadline.

How can I go about developing and improving the parts I found difficult?

Learning more into the softwares.

Do I need to develop certain skills? Do I need these now? Or later?

I had developed a few easier ways of presenting my ideas. I will be using these new techniques though in the future. I may need to develop some more knowledge within document sizes and such.

 

