11/02/16

First things first and that is to get measurements of a book, below I have sketched out the dimensions.

IMG_0592

Screen Shot 2016-02-11 at 21.25.57

I’ve decided to use Photoshop for these as it’s a little more user friendly and I am a lot more familiar with the software.

Screen Shot 2016-02-11 at 21.28.17Screen Shot 2016-02-11 at 21.28.21

So As I have said before I want to go for a leather look for my cover, in order to do so i colour picked the horse from the film made it a little more red to signify that it was a very loved horse during the war no matter who he met on his adventure and set that as the background colour. I then had to put a pattern overlay onto it. To do so I had to double click the layer to open up the blending options then selected the pattern overlay option and put the opacity all the way down so it’s only just visible. I also took a splatter brush and made it a little lighter than the background colour and dabbed a few patches onto it to make it look a little worn out.

Screen Shot 2016-02-11 at 21.28.43Screen Shot 2016-02-11 at 21.28.51

I then went on to choosing what font I wanted to go with. I wanted a posh looking font which looks like it could have been a font that may have been around during the Great War. To get the rich feel and look I made it a nice smooth golden colour as that when I get this printed for my portfolio version i’d get fake leather embossed with gold foil.

Screen Shot 2016-02-11 at 21.29.24

I wanted Michaels second name to stand out more than his first as that Morpurgo is a more unique name and most people would recognise him from his second name as his first is a little common. I wanted to make it look as if it was actually gold foil pressed in to leather so I placed an inner shadow on most the content.

Screen Shot 2016-02-11 at 21.30.01Screen Shot 2016-02-11 at 21.30.06

I then went on to brining in a simple icon I made in illustrator of a horse and put a light stroked ellipse around it so it looked a little like a medallion, a medal of honour. I did this so it made the horse a little like he was a war legend.

Screen Shot 2016-02-11 at 21.30.23

Removing all the colours in the penguin logo and replacing the black parts with gold looked so effective and I think makes it look so much more unique and matches that Limited Edition look.

Screen Shot 2016-02-11 at 21.30.41

Instead of having a barcode on the back of the page I decided to simply put “Limited Edition” to show that it’s something special. for the barcode it’d be placed on the inside of the

Screen Shot 2016-02-11 at 21.30.55

Finally I went onto placing the final content being.. the blurb! Again I kept the font the same all around the page and made it golden as that it would be embossed onto Cult GMUND fake leather.

Screen Shot 2016-02-11 at 21.31.00

This I believe looks great seeing as the old leather look signifies an old journal perhaps from the war, making it look worn out also helps a lot. To show that it’s about a horse is still important I think adding that simple icon gives a clear understanding especially the fact that it’s at the top of the hierarchy on the front cover. The material I would like the gold foil embossed on to is this below which is a sample taken from G F Smith from when they came to visit us in a lecture not so long ago.

 

Link to PDF

