05/02/16

1) Visual Communication:

In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece meet the needs of the brief?

The brief says “make it different”, it says to either create something new or upgrade something to make the product more sustainable. I believe that my idea has met the needs of this brief after a lot of thought and understanding of the brief itself.

In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece fail to meet the needs of the brief?

I believe I could have done a few more sketches by hand instead of digitally, I have a feeling that my PDF’s won’t show that my idea is so much sustainable.

What are the strengths of the visual communication? Why?

I believe my strengths within my PDF’s and idea itself are that the idea I think is original and new, I feel that I have pitched the idea pretty well in my eyes. I feel I’ve learnt from my mistakes from the last few assignments with the visual communication and made it very clear and simple to see what it is and how the idea works.

What are the weaknesses of the visual communication? Why?

After looking at other people’s work I feel that I haven’t included that much writing but then again the audience should be able to tell what it’s about through imagery.

In what ways could the piece be mis-read or mis-understood by the audience? Be specific about who the audience is.

I’m not too sure as I feel I made it as clear as I possibly could.

In what practical ways could the piece be developed or improved?

I’d may want to explore purchased fonts and get a better variety of them.

2) Reflection of own working practices:

How was my time keeping?

I found my time keeping skills well set out, although I had a week off due to sickness which did affect me a little but I still managed to reach the deadline.

How was my analysis of the brief?

I’m not really good at analysing my own work but I think I done alright again.

How was my research?

I think I managed to get all my research gathered up pretty well and believe I got everything I needed for the project.

How did I draw conclusions from my research?

I’m not so sure, I just gathered my research and analysed it. I had to relate the research to my project and how it would help me out and how it all links to semiotics.

How did I use research to generate and develop ideas?

I went to a few exhibitions of people who expressed themselves through art work trying to change the way people think on life. I took the way they tried to do so and applied them to my own work.

How did I use evaluations to help with my ideas generation and development?

I learnt from my mistakes, instead of evaluating my own work as I went along, I involved others to get an outside point of view.

 

In what ways did I show that I had achieved the Learning Outcomes? How can I improve this next time?

I blogged about my progress frequently and documented mostly everything I done. Although I could blog more about the lectures and maybe document in a little more detail next time to improve.

What parts of the project did I enjoy most? Why was this the case?

All of it because it was also a real world thing, we were creating a piece to potentially enter a competition.

What parts of the project did I enjoy least? Why was this the case?

Probably the beginning, as the project was a little hard to understand at first.

At what times did I work best? Why might this be the case? How can I ensure that I work well at all times?

Working with the software again. I love using computers for graphical designs to express my ideas.

What areas inspired me? Why was this the case? How could I follow these up?

What inspired me during this project was pretty much the whole project itself. Looking at how others got their ideas gave me new ways to think of something different.

What areas were challenging or difficult? Why was this the case?

There were a few areas one being that it was a hard brief to understand and also the printing stage was again a little stressful but was alright as that it was printed a few days before the deadline.

How can I go about developing and improving the parts I found difficult?

Learning more into the softwares and being able to know how to create 3D objects to present my idea.

Do I need to develop certain skills? Do I need these now? Or later?

I had developed a few easier ways of presenting my ideas. I will be using these new techniques though in the future.

Any other points?

I enjoyed this assignment and I believe that it’s made me think more creatively and originally. It would have been handy to have a little more time on it as that it may be entered into a contest.

