11/12/15

Evaluation and Reflection:

1) Visual Communication:

In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece meet the needs of the brief?

Well as it says in the brief, we must try and revive a selected subculture. I believe that my front cover done well to represent who my subculture was and showed that they were emerging back from their so called ‘bad’ history.

In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece fail to meet the needs of the brief?

I’m not too sure really apart from again which will always be a problem with any piece you make is the Intentional fallacy, are people going to see what you see? I think I worked on that well though by testing it seeing if others did see what i saw.

What are the strengths of the visual communication? Why?

The news article in the background made it very safe to say that the viewers would have an idea on what the issue is about because it is an article of the zoot suit riots, which was the latest article ever published about them. Also the silhouette gives away zoot suiters sharp and dapper fashion sense which does infact look like its getting popular again in a way with the whole suits thing.

What are the weaknesses of the visual communication? Why?

Not so sure really apart from the Intentional fallacy which I have explained why previously.

In what ways could the piece be mis-read or mis-understood by the audience? Be specific about who the audience is.

Right so again maybe the audience who is pretty much anyone in this case as it’s a magazine which is bought by people aged at least 17 and over may not realise what the black shape actually is, or they might not realise what the article is all about.

In what practical ways could the piece be developed or improved?

A little more research into the subculture may have been essential to the final piece and also a bit more training and experimenting with Illustration.

2) Reflection of own working practices:

Be very honest with yourself in this section. Please feel free to approach a member of staff for help finding ways to develop skills.

How was my time keeping?

Fairly well, though at the beginning it was hard to juggle work with this so i decided to cut down on my hours.

How was my analysis of the brief?

I thought I struggled a little to understand the brief at the beginning though the more I learnt and asked my lecturer for directions on the brief I was well away.

How was my research?

To be honest I don’t particularly like researching though it was essential for this project, I thought I researched well though I do think further research may have been necessary.

How did I draw conclusions from my research?

I thought I had found enough when I simply ran out of resources to gather up information on my subculture.

How did I use research to generate and develop ideas?

I used research to look for my subcultures icon, what they wear, what they did and why they did it. I then just thought of some ideas to merge some of them together which led to my final version.

How did I use experimentation during the project? How can I make this more effective?

I took ideas and kept experimenting with them, saving pretty much every slight tweak to then go through them to see which one is better.

In what ways did I show that I had achieved the Learning Outcomes? How can I improve this next time?

I kept on top of my blogs and only done posts which were only completely relevant to the brief.

What parts of the project did I enjoy most? Why was this the case?

I enjoyed creating and experimenting with the front cover and DPS because I love doing the more practical work and really enjoy experimenting with ideas.

What parts of the project did I enjoy least? Why was this the case?

Researching the subculture and semiotics, I seem to drift off when doing so as I did know what semiotics were before.

At what times did I work best? Why might this be the case? How can I ensure that I work well at all times?

When I was working on the actual project because I like creating pieces that are unique, I would like researching if it were something extremely interesting through my eyes.

What areas inspired me? Why was this the case? How could I follow these up?

Looking at CR inspired me on how certain things should look to meet certain standards. I think I should always look at my competition.

What areas were challenging or difficult? Why was this the case?

Researching was difficult as that resources were rather limited.

How can I go about developing and improving the parts I found difficult?

By finding more time and spending a little more time researching than creating the design for the project.

Do I need to develop certain skills? Do I need these now? Or later?

I still need to develop skills within the Adobe suit.

Any other points?

N/A

