03/12/15

I thought it would be essential to gather up all the specs that I need to start creating my front cover and DPS (Double Page Spread) from my copy of Creative Review, I went into looking at how they layout their pages and the measurements of the front cover.

I got a ruler and started measuring the front cover, then started to dot down the specs on a rough sketch of the layout shown below.

IMG_0341-0

I felt the need to be able to get the majority of their official font spot on, I found out that the font family known as Minion Pro was very similar to what they use, but it wouldn’t be this easy to implement it as that Minion Pro has a lot of customisation to it like and other font. So anyway the aim is to make the font look similar to these bits of text below.

IMG_0332-0IMG_0331-0

Doing PMI tests on things that inspire you is great to crack down on what you think will look good for the current project and maybe ones in the future. I’m going to go on to doing a few on a couple of pages I liked within the magazine.

IMG_0337

P- The picture quality and where it is placed is fantastic, The white space works well in this and they’ve managed to balance it pretty well. I may like to use a big image for my spread and a little bit of white space too.

M- The space dividers in the title kind of distract me, maybe it would have been a better idea just to have a couple in there.

I- Drop caps work very well in some articles though i’m still not sure whether or not to use them in my piece or not. also the indenture in the paragraphs make the article look a little messy but could work in another scenario.

IMG_0336

P- Again a nice big image which spreads across both pages bringing it to the centre of attention. I also like the fact they have a bit of red text to bring it forward for attention.

M- I don’t really like the really narrow columns and the use of pointless white space in this one unfortunately and it doesn’t so much work in its favour.

I-The use of a different coloured column background on the far right looks ok but seems pointless in this kind of situation.

I finally picked at a few things here which i may also would like to consider using for my DPS.

*BIG PHOTOS*

*SELECTED KEY POINTS FROM ARTICLES*

*USE OF SIMPLE COLOURS*

*SLIGHT TOUCHES OF THE COLOUR RED*

*THE USE OF VERY LIGHT DIVIDERS*

This has improved my understanding again on how my pieces should look in the final version. It has prepared me on what fonts, colours and imagery I should be using.

