01/12/15

Here I am going to go into a little more detail on what my thumbnails from the recent pecha kucha represents and how I am looking to develop them further into the final piece.

First set of Thumbnails

Screen Shot 2015-11-23 at 15.43.47

So with these thumbnails I’d want to illustrate an invisible man in a full suit zoot, making it a lot neater and sharper than the ones above to show that they show a sharp mysterious look. I’d then choose an old newspaper article on the zoot suit riots to then place the illustration on top. Doing so it will give out their edgy background behind their luxury looking life, it will also give people a better understanding on what subculture i am doing as I would highlight in the news articles all the “zoot”‘s and “suit”‘s to make them stand out from the other text.

Second set of Thumbnails

Screen Shot 2015-11-23 at 15.44.05

With these sketches I would want to show zoot suiters main iconic wear in simple illustration. I’m not too sure on this as that maybe it would confuse my audience on who it is on about, maybe I would like to consider some kind of text just to be safe that they’ll know who it is about. This idea is still good though as that I want the front cover to make people remember of the forgotten fashion of these fellas.

Third set of Thumbnails

Screen Shot 2015-11-23 at 15.44.21

Now on these sketches I wanted to go for a non- digital illustration on top of a photograph of a local bar. Doing so I think that it screams out that the subculture is on a revival process, giving the painting style a look as if it’s been graffitied onto the photo, I’d make the bar photo a piece of advertisement for a new local bar, then spray on the painting to give an edgy look and a look of hope to the forgotten subculture.

I’m thinking of maybe merging two or maybe all three of these good ideas into one to create the final piece though I am still not sure. I do really want to make sure that the target audience know 100% who my subculture is without having to go to my double page spread in confusion. Now I know  it is critical to make sure that the audience won’t get confused from my first project this year.

