30/11/15

In this blog I am going to look at my choices of Illustration in both digital and non- digital aspects briefly. I already know that I feel more comfortable using the digital method though sometimes creating illustration by hand can work out a hell of a lot better, but it all depends on how you want the outcome to look like. I wanted to go for a simple illustration so that it wouldn’t be too complex for someone to understand. I wanted the illustration to be simple yet extremely effective to what it links to with my chosen subculture.

So there are two ways in how I could create my illustration and these are digital and non- digital.

Digital

Computer illustration or digital illustration is the use of digital tools to produce images under the direct manipulation of the artist, usually through a pointing device such as a tablet or a mouse. Part of the reason why I am heading down the Digital route is because myself has a Tablet which will make the production a hell of alot easier. It is distinguished from computer-generated art, which is produced by a computer using mathematical models created by the artist. It is also distinct from digital manipulation of photographs, in that it is an original construction “from scratch” but not as from scratch as a Non- digital piece. Here are a few examples of some Digital pieces I want to follow.

 

Non- Digital

Though with Non- digital I do believe that they look a lot more realistic when hand drawn with any technique such as watercolour or sketches. Below are a few good examples.

 

I believe that researching into different ways on how to illustrate has helped me a little to understand which route I want to go down and I’m going to choose the digital route for this one because I think that looking back at some of the others that were featured on Creative Reviews front cover haven’t really got so much detail in them like the hand drawn illustrations that i have found during this research. Also I think that my subculture wouldn’t suit that look as that zoot suiters always wanted to look clean and sharp so I’ll be giving the illustration a nice sharp finish with a slight rough background to it.

 

