1) Visual Communication:

In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece meet the needs of the brief?

I believe our piece met the brief as that we demonstrated good teamwork and managed to collect all the essentials and put the together.

In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece fail to meet the needs of the brief?

I feel that the content was a little jumbled and the communications weren’t as strong as i thought they should have been.

What are the strengths of the visual communication? Why?

Our strengths where that we as a group were full of great ideas, our brainstorming sessions never died and there were ideas flying all over the place. We also had a lot of useful equipment to experiment with so that also gave us a great advantage.

What are the weaknesses of the visual communication? Why?

We clashed too much with ideas and didn’t particularly agree on a few ideas suggested by others in the group. I felt that it was a shame that some of us didn’t agree on some of the good ideas being explored. Also communication was weak as that i had gone on holiday and couldn’t really stay in contact and work with the others.

In what ways could the piece be mis-read or mis-understood by the audience? Be specific about who the audience is.

I would say that the slang on the front cover could be misread and people may have not known what it meant. Also i gathered that the messages given out within the zine could be mis understood with the audience not knowing if its serious or just tongue and cheek.

In what practical ways could the piece be developed or improved?

More time spent together would have improved the zine by far! learning a little bit more on type would also help the situation making us feel more comfortable with the task.

2) Reflection of own working practices:

How was my time keeping?

I thought my time keeping was ok until the end due to the fact that I was away during the reading week.

How was my analysis of the brief?

I thought we as a group analysed and understood the brief averagely well enough to produce something quite significant.

How was my research?

My research was well and in depth with the history of Typology, though i think i may have to add to it the more i learn within the first year of this HND course.

How did I draw conclusions from my research?

I thought I’d research till the 20th Century due to the fact that then was the time technology properly kicked in making the research a little irrelevant to the assignment.

How did I use research to generate and develop ideas?

I used my research as influence, also researching and looking into other zines gave me an idea on how ours should end up looking like.

How did I use experimentation during the project? How can I make this more effective?

More time would help seeing as the more yo experiment, the more choice you’ll have for the final piece. I could only experiment with a few ideas though I really did not get enough time to document them.

In what ways did I show that I had achieved the Learning Outcomes? How can I improve this next time?

I found that my pages looking along the same lines as everyone else’s around me made me confident with my work feeling that i had achieved the outcomes. Though I could have improved my outcomes by not going on Holiday and getting more time on the assignment!

What parts of the project did I enjoy most? Why was this the case?

I enjoyed working on my own with my pages and crafting them together, this is because I don’t like criticism and don’t really like it when others watch me work.

What parts of the project did I enjoy least? Why was this the case?

I didn’t so much like the group brainstorming because of the amount of disagreement over agreement coming from our group.

What areas inspired me? Why was this the case? How could I follow these up?

Looking at how other Zines looked like back in the past compared to the ones nowadays. I could always look back at them for inspiration on page layouts and illustrations.

What areas were challenging or difficult? Why was this the case?

Brainstorming in a group, because you get a bag full of mixed emotions on others ideas, though this could work well, I didn’t think it worked in our advantage.

How can I go about developing and improving the parts I found difficult?

Dedicating more time to certain parts of the project, I felt I only spent a little amount of time on the practical parts of the assignment.

Do I need to develop certain skills? Do I need these now? Or later?

I need to develop more skills on how to create new fonts and the scaling of fonts, I suppose i need these certain skills as soon as possible.

