1) Visual Communication:

In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece meet the needs of the brief?

The brief says to advertise a typographic walk around Bexhill. I include photos of typography used within the area and collaged them into a landmark of Bexhill. I couldn’t really think of another way to make it more clear to as where it was and what it was.

In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece fail to meet the needs of the brief?

I think that maybe the date may be hard to get attention from the audience because it is outlined and has no fill Though I don’t see any other failures towards the needs.

What are the strengths of the visual communication? Why?

I believe my strengths within my poster as the collaged images and the type used on the important information. this is because both of them are well-balanced for their importance.

What are the weaknesses of the visual communication? Why?

I think the poster comes across too dark maybe, which kind of gives out the wrong message to my target audience unfortunately. I also thing the image is a little too dark and blends in with the background too much? Also I’m annoyed that I couldn’t sort out the pixelation on my image.

In what ways could the piece be mis-read or mis-understood by the audience? Be specific about who the audience is.

Like I answered in the previous question, I’d be worried that typographers and students may avoid the dark layout and maybe not pay much attention to it. Though saying that, it does make it stand out from the others.

In what practical ways could the piece be developed or improved?

I’d may want to explore purchased fonts and get a better variety on them, and also again with the image quality, the blending is a little harsh and shows a chunky cut out.

2) Reflection of own working practices:

How was my time keeping?

I found my time keeping skills well set out, apart from having to juggle work and this together, can become rather stressful and doesn’t give me the chance to give 100%. I think ill have to maybe cut down on my work hours.

How was my analysis of the brief?

I’m not really good at analysing my own work but I think I done alright for my first attempt in this course.

How was my research?

I find research a drag! but I think I got the main parts I had to look up, and researching something you enjoy does give me a bit more enthusiasm.

How did I draw conclusions from my research?

I’m not so sure, I just gathered my research and analysed it. I had to relate the research to my project and how it would help me out and give me an advantage.

How did I use research to generate and develop ideas?

I used a technique in one of my blogs called PMI on some posters that influenced me, PMI is where you pick out the good and the bad points of something you are analysing, then finding interesting things within it and saving them ideas for another time.

How did I use evaluations to help with my ideas generation and development?

I learnt from my mistakes, instead of evaluating my own work as I went along, I involved others instead to get an outside point of view.

How did I use experimentation during the project? How can I make this more effective?

I like to play around on software and discover techniques my own way making it a little more unique. To make this more effective I will do my best to find quicker and more efficient ways of doing the techniques I learn myself.

In what ways did I show that I had achieved the Learning Outcomes? How can I improve this next time?

I blogged about my progress frequently and documented mostly everything I done. Although I could blog more about the lectures and maybe document in a little more detail next time to improve.

What parts of the project did I enjoy most? Why was this the case?

All of it, I felt as if I was doing it for a real-time client.

What parts of the project did I enjoy least? Why was this the case?

The decision out of the two posters I had produced. This was difficult because they both had two completely different approaches to them.

At what times did I work best? Why might this be the case? How can I ensure that I work well at all times?

Working with the software. I love using computers for graphical designs. To ensure I stay working like this I will look up tutorials on more complex techniques in my spare time and pay close attention it lectures.

What areas inspired me? Why was this the case? How could I follow these up?

What inspired me during this project was pretty much the whole project itself. Getting influence from my typographic walk in Bexhill really made me think on how to improve things others weren’t so successful on. Also looking into others posters online gave me influence and tips on what work well together and what don’t.

What areas were challenging or difficult? Why was this the case?

The only area I found challenging was the print stage as there was a lot of running about due to faulty printers, this is a reminder to not print last-minute.

How can I go about developing and improving the parts I found difficult?

Learning more into the software I used to develop my project, hopefully we will be learning a lot more in lectures and work experience.

Do I need to develop certain skills? Do I need these now? Or later?

I had developed a few easier ways of producing effects, but nothing exactly new. I will be using these new techniques though in the future.

Any other points?

I found it a little hard at the end to decide which of the two posters I had made to send off as the final piece. I thought long and hard and took in others opinions to reinforce my decision and I had to go with my first poster. The reason being was that it felt more original and matched the brief more than my second attempt did, I may not have liked it but it’s not about that, it’s about if it matches and stands out from the others which I found it did. It is also annoying how the poster looks a lot more appealing in person than through a screen unfortunately. so my final piece is THE WAVE POSTER.

POSTER MK3

