13/10/15

Here I am going to show how i managed and completed my first version of my Typographic poster. Our objective was to create an A2 poster to advertise our typographic walk around Bexhill.

It was important to know the area and who our target would be and to catch the feel of the area. I was thinking for my audience along the lines of students like myself and professional typographers would be my main target and possibly tourists. I found Bexhill a little dark in places but once at the seafront it felt like a stress relief from all the fairly big buildings around the built up area.

The poster had to include the following text “Typographic Walk around Bexhill 30th October 2015 For further information please visit out website http://www.typetours.com.”. The text that had to stand out in my opinion were “Typographic Walk”, “Bexhill”, “30th October 2015” and “www.typetours.com”. I had to get the message across that it was a typographic walk in Bexhill, to help me do that other than making the font stand out, was to use the photographs i took there to help give away more that it was Bexhill.

Here is my rough sketch up of the poster idea.

IMG_2811

to start of I got a few of my images and imported them into Photoshop. The tricky part was to then crop all the images neatly and rotate them to look like they’ve been roughly placed in to a collage. I was thinking of making a tidy collage but it wouldn’t have worked as that the images were all different sizes once they were cropped. the reason why I cropped them was because it would look very rough with patches that aren’t subject to Typography.

Screen Shot 2015-10-07 at 14.31.40

Screen Shot 2015-10-07 at 14.46.17

To crop some of the images I had to use the quick selection tool to separate the parts I didn’t want to the parts of the image that I did want, like here I did not want the middle portion of the logo so I had to select the part I didn’t want and delete it.

Although some images where easier than others due to how I took the photo. with some of the posters I took photos of, they where pretty straight and head on so I could simple draw a square/ rectangle over it, rasterize the image so I could cut it from the original and copy and paste it in to a new layer, thus deleting the original image.

Screen Shot 2015-10-08 at 22.43.00 Screen Shot 2015-10-11 at 19.05.23 Screen Shot 2015-10-11 at 19.16.18 Screen Shot 2015-10-11 at 19.16.24

Once I collaged all my images together I realised that the silhouette I was going to use wouldn’t fit all the images within it, therefore I had to shrink them down and experiment a little bit more on where I was putting the images, being very careful on which ones to prioritize.

Screen Shot 2015-10-11 at 19.35.19

Right now that I got the collage sorted it was then on to getting hold of the silhouette. Luckily I captured the sculpture perfectly for this opportunity, I got a head on landscape shot of the whole Wave sculpture by the De La Warr Pavilion.

IMG_0072

To get the silhouette I again had to use the quick selection tool in Photoshop to crop out the image. Once I cropped the image I then popped it on to a clean black finished background.

Screen Shot 2015-10-08 at 22.22.41

There was a problem though, it didn’t blend so well into the background. It came on to harshly, so I had to experiment with the blending tools to make it smooth and a little more cleaner.

Screen Shot 2015-10-08 at 22.23.17Screen Shot 2015-10-08 at 22.23.13

I had a few choices on how the contrast and brightness of the sculpture would look like with a black background, I liked a few of them and it was hard to choose out of the lot. I wanted it to stand out and be bright to represent the seafront (nice and colourful) compared to the background which represents the high built town area (filled with shadows of buildings).

Screen Shot 2015-10-11 at 19.09.10 Screen Shot 2015-10-11 at 19.11.06 Screen Shot 2015-10-11 at 19.10.25 Screen Shot 2015-10-11 at 19.10.06  Screen Shot 2015-10-11 at 19.09.17Screen Shot 2015-10-11 at 19.10.02

I chose this one at the bottom as that it looked light but also blended in very nicely with the background.

Next I had to group my collage together and clip out the shape of the sculpture out of it and choose a specific section of the collage. I then had to drag it into the document in which I was working on the sculpture with the black background and lay the collage over the sculpture.

Screen Shot 2015-10-11 at 19.35.23 Screen Shot 2015-10-11 at 19.37.54

I felt the need to mix the two together as if the images were actually printed onto the sculpture, to do so I had to mess around with the opacity to get it spot on. The screenshot from the top was before, the one bellow it was after experimenting with the blending. The reason why I chose this part of the collage was that I felt it was the part of the collage with the most variety of different fonts.

Moving on to the type on my poster within Illustrator, I wanted to give a straight bold font to my audience so that the message came through clearly and was easy to read. I used Arial Black and Arial. On my first attempt I thought to put the title and information on to the right hand side of the poster and making the Around outlined due to its importance. so it looked like this.

Screen Shot 2015-10-11 at 20.24.16

To fit Bexhill in to the title I thought it’d be a good idea to make the B over sized reaching the same level as “Walk”, looking like this.

Screen Shot 2015-10-11 at 20.28.48

I had to experiment with the size, kerning and lining of the lot of them to make it neat and not look scrabbled. I thought to make the B stand out a little more I’d outline the single letter.

Screen Shot 2015-10-11 at 20.33.48 Screen Shot 2015-10-11 at 20.50.57

Moving onto the style of how I’m going to present the date. I was thinking of making it in a numeric format instead of how it says in the brief, though after I did ask and my lecture said I could not do so. but here is how it looked in a nice bold font and outlined. I also looked at making the main title outlined too without any fill and making “around” a little less transparent.

Screen Shot 2015-10-11 at 21.40.02

This being my first version of my poster I was pretty proud of how it was layout, but this was only step one of the big road ahead! from going to the above to the one bellow I will explain how I did so.

Screen Shot 2015-10-12 at 18.45.28

Thus included getting feedback from over five people and fixing things to how they suggested. some advice and feedback I didn’t react to as I found it wouldn’t have helped.

Things that needed adjusting and looking at after feedback:

  • The date
  • The information box
  • The contrast and brightness of the sculpture
  • The alignment of the text at the top

… So pretty much everything needed revisiting!

So where should I start? I had to start on the top text and date, I started from scratch on both these and came up with a few ideas.

Screen Shot 2015-10-12 at 10.41.17

I had to make “Typographic” stand out more than “Bexhill” so I thought id get the same style as I had “Bexhill” in previously. This didn’t look too bad at the time.

Screen Shot 2015-10-12 at 10.47.00

Then I realised maybe I should centre the whole lot and add some shapes to the title slightly breaking it up a little. horning both the T and C in “Typographic” and the B and L in “Bexhill” looked good at the beginning but then started to look a bit odd and not right, you will see I change my mind later on in the process.

Screen Shot 2015-10-12 at 11.20.04

Moving on to the date format, this screwed me over a little as it didn’t look right once I put in “October” so I experimented with the alignment to reach satisfaction.

Screen Shot 2015-10-12 at 11.41.42 Screen Shot 2015-10-12 at 11.53.49

Centring the date I thought made it more readable and showed the audience its importance and that it’s the next thing they should look at after the sculpture. Also I put the information in a single line at the bottom of the page, keeping the website bold.

I started by going back into Photoshop and sorting out the contrast and brightness on the sculpture making it a little more bolder.

Screen Shot 2015-10-12 at 11.55.33 Screen Shot 2015-10-12 at 12.23.33

Here was when others and myself realised that the horns on the top text didn’t go to well as well as the outlined T and C. So yet another change I had to make, which I didn’t mind as that I love experimenting and taking other people’s thoughts in.

Screen Shot 2015-10-12 at 14.26.35

I was also told by another lecturer to get rid of the rectangle underneath “Typography” as that it can distract the audience.

Screen Shot 2015-10-12 at 16.15.23

Finally to finish off my poster I just had to centre it all making sure that when it prints it doesn’t cut important parts off (I learnt this the hard way!). I also experimented with the spacing on the top text to get the best and well-balanced feel to it. Also reducing the oversized T was required to get full satisfaction…. FINALLY!

Here are the Three versions of this poster.

POSTER MK1 POSTER MK2 POSTER MK3

*PROTOTYPE 1 PDF File*     *PROTOTYPE 2 PDF File*        *FINAL PIECE PDF File*

Giving the audience a taste of what typography there is around Bexhill at a high quality and quantity I thought would advertise the walk fantastically. Also presenting it in a well known sculpture to that area would give the audience a guarantee of nice artwork within the area. I think in this poster the message is very clear and readable, but I can’t be the judge of that seeing as if it were to go on show it would be seen by thousands.

